top of page
Trauma Sensitive Meditation Canberra


meditation for PTSD

private or course


Integrative RESToration

iRest is a simple and accessible, trauma aware form of meditation designed for modern-day living. It is a form of yoga therapy that cultivates great results through short regular practices. It is offered in all of Kendra's classes but is particularly effective as a private Dyad practice.

You may have already practiced Yoga Nidra in regular Yoga classes by lying on your back and being guided through body sensations. iRest is a Yoga Nidra practice developed by Dr. Richard Miller that combines traditional yogic practices with Western psychology and neuroscience. It is practiced and taught by thousands of people worldwide in a wide range of settings, including health centers, schools, community centers, yoga studios, correctional facilities, and military hospitals.

It can help you navigate life's challenges and enhance a feeling of wellbeing.

iRest has been shown to be effective in scientific trials for conditions including;

chronic pain

sleep problems

depression and anxiety

post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

Do you struggle with difficult emotions?

Do you find it hard to meditate alone?

meditation in braddon canberra

What is present now?


co meditation

During a dyad or co-meditation, we meet one on one and welcome everything just as it is and mirror all that arises.

It is simply a process of being present with what presents without the need to fix anything.

In this simplicity, you develop a capacity to meet yourself each day in your own meditation.

Quite often we can feel that meditation is a struggle and can feel quite lonely. This wonderful practice reawakens our longing for human connection, clarity, and understanding.


I will hold a space of unconditional presence for you because I have spent many years doing this for myself. This creates intimacy and trust which helps you open up to express your truth, emotions, beliefs, and whatever arises in unconditional love and acceptance.

We aim to move past the cognitive process and into the somatic experience of feeling, witnessing the changing experiences in real-time, or what I like to call coming' online'.


This practice can be done in-person one-on-one, or online via Zoom.

how is iRest different to Yoga Nidra?

What are the core principles of iRest?

The power of the ten steps of iRest rests upon a number of core principles. These core principles are the ground upon which all of the iRest foundational stones sit.

The core principles are what make iRest such a powerful program for healing PTSD.

Learn to be welcoming.

Stop judging yourself.

Know that everything is a messenger.

Accept what is.

Know that you’re always doing your best.

Understand the law of awareness.

Discover your non-separate wholeness.



Sunday morning in fetal position with the fear and pain of letting myself down and not loving me at all.

I eventually rolled over onto my back - Savasana 'corpse pose' - put my hands on my heart, closed my eyes and felt the 'love' crying tears, not sobbing, tears just flowing over my cheeks and down the side of my face.

In my mind I then chanted my sankalpas:


"I understand"

"I have the courage to recognise and release my fears"

"I move forward with love, understanding and compassion for me and the universe".


Kendra is the touchstone of my revelation - her calm spirit centres my being, supporting and guiding me spiritually and physically.

My time with Kendra each week has been a journey of discovery, acknowledgement and growth, mentally, physically and spiritually. Without any imposition she identifies my pain and fears and provides me with guidance for me to build better practices and rhythms to support me in finding the person I am mentally physically and spiritually. Linda


What are the 4 phases of waking up?

Understanding the four phases of awakening can help you orientate within your meditation practice, and support your exploration of your true nature. According to Dr Richard Miller, the founder of iRest;

Phase 1: Waking In.

You mature into an integrated, individuated, and fully functioning person who’s intimate and friendly with your body, mind, emotions, and thoughts.

Phase 2: Waking Up.

You realize Essential Nature is beyond the illusion of separation and awaken to the impersonal realm and great mystery which underlies all of life.

Phase 3: Waking Down.

You embody a holistic view which embraces personal and impersonal, separation and non-separation, enabling spontaneous, aligned, and authentic living. 

Phase 4: Waking Out.

You remain fully awake and present as Awareness as you go about your daily life, interacting with others and participating in the world. 

bottom of page